ISMIS 2011, June 28-30, Warsaw, Poland

Special Session on Rough Sets,
devoted to the Memory of Zdzislaw Pawlak

In conjunction with the International Symposium on Methodologies for Intelligent Systems (ISMIS 2011)

June 28 to June 30, 2011
Warsaw, Poland

Submission Deadline: February 15, 2011

Scope and Objectives

Rough set theory, proposed by Zdzislaw Pawlak in 1982, has been attracting researchers and practitioners in various fields of science and technology. The interest in rough set theory and applications is remarkable since the beginning, and it is still growing. The ingenious concepts of rough set has been a base for original developments in both theoretical research, including logics, algebra and topology, and applied research, including knowledge discovery, data mining, decision theory, artificial intelligence and approximate reasoning. The latter led to many real life applications in so diversified areas as medicine, bioinformatics, economy, finance, political analysis, chemistry, engineering, environment, and even art and culture.

Topics of interest include (but are not limited to) the following:

  • Theoretical foundations of rough sets
  • Generalizations of rough sets
  • Rough sets and fuzzy sets
  • Rough sets and granularity
  • Data mining based on rough sets
  • Other applications of rough sets

Paper Submissions

Authors are invited to submit original unpublished manuscripts that demonstrate current research on one of the special session topics of interest. Papers should be prepared using the Springer LNCS/LNAI style with a maximum of 10 pages. All submitted papers will be reviewed by at least three members of the program committee. At least one of the members is in the PC of ISMIS.

Paper should be submitted in PDF form via ISMIS 2011 Online Submission System:

While submitting the paper, please remember to mark as the "Special Session on Rough Sets".

Important Dates

Special Session Organizer

Jerzy W. Grzymala-Busse (Univ. of Kansas, USA)

Program Committee

Chien-Chung Chan (Univ. of Akron, USA)
Davide Ciucci (Univ. of Milano, Italy)
Jan Komorowski (Univ. of Uppsala, Sweden)
Masahiro Inuiguchi (Osaka Univ., Japan)
Tsau Young Lin (San Jose State Univ, USA)
Wojciech Rzasa (Univ. of Rzeszow, Poland)
Anita Wasilewska (Stony Brook Univ., USA)
Urszula Wybraniec-Skardowska (Univ. of Opole, Poland)
Jing Tao Yao (Univ. of Regina, Canada)
Wojciech Ziarko (Univ. of Regina, Canada)